Our Governors

Steve Cooke

Chair of Governors: Committee: Resources, Finance, Health & Safety, GDPR
Steve’s background is banking and finance with considerable experience as a Relationship Manager working alongside individuals and businesses. He retired in August 2016. Steve joined the Governing Board in March 2015 and was appointed Chair of Governors in May 2017.

Ash Atherton

Headteacher: Committee: School Improvement

Nick O'Keefe

Vice Chair of Governors: Committee: School Improvement, Safeguarding

Joan Lock

Governor: Committee: School Improvement, Butterflies, Nursery, Reception
Joan is a former Headteacher and Ofsted Inspector. She now acts as a School Improvement Adviser.

Elaine Boyes

Governor: Committee: Resources, Year 3 and 4

Jennifer Carter-Shaw

Governor: Committee: School Improvement, Year 1 and 2

Tom Button

Governor: Committee: School Improvement, Year 5 and 6

Ruth Poyser

Governor: Committee: Resources, SEND

Charlotte Smith-Lynch

Deputy Headteacher / Nursery Teacher /
EYS/KS1 Leader

VACANCY: Parent/Governor

If you’re interested in finding out more about this vital role at Burton Green Primary School please ask at school reception.

VACANCY: Trust-appointed Governor

Co-opted Governor
If you’re interested in finding out more about this vital role at Burton Green Primary School please ask at school reception.

Isabella Kurst-Hansen

Clerk to the Local Governing Committee
Isabella is responsible for minuting all Governor and committee meetings.


Governors’ terms of office

NameDate of appointmentTerm of officeAppointing bodyCommittee/Link Governor Responsibility
Steve Cooke (Chair)10.03.15

10.03.23LGC/ratified by HLTYCommittee - Resources
Finance, H&S, GDPR
Ash Atherton (Headteacher)01.09.18Time in roleEx officio member of LGSCommittee – School Improvement
Nick O'Keefe (Vice Chair)23.07.1723.07.21LGC/ratified by HLTYCommittee – School Improvement
Joan Lock24.10.1823.10.22LGC/ratified by HLTYCommittee – School Improvement
Butterflies, Nursery, Reception
Elaine Boyes23.07.1723.07.21LGC/ratified by HLTYCommittee - Resources
Year 3 and 4
Jennifer Carter-Shaw27.09.1727.09.21LGC/ratified by HLTYCommittee – School Improvement
Year 1 and 2
Tom Button01.02.1801.02.22Parent memberCommittee – School Improvement
Year 5 and 6
Ruth Poyser23.05.1823.05.22LGC/ratified by HLTYCommittee – Resources
Charlotte Smith-Lynch29.01.1929.01.23School StaffCommittee - Resources
The following governors have stepped down in 2017/18
Date stepped down
Anna Calderwood30.04.18
Corinne Naylor30.06.18
Kelsey Clark-Davies31.08.18
Merv Bradish15.03.18


Governors’ business interests

Name of GovernorNature of any business interests including details of the company or organisationDate of start of interestDetails of governor membership at another school or academyDetails of any relationship between governor and member of school staff
(eg spouse)
Ms Ash AthertonNONE

Miss Elaine BoyesEmployee of Association of Graduate Careers Advisory Services18/01/16NONENONE
Ms Jennifer Carter-ShawNONENONENONE
Mrs Charlotte Lynch-SmithNONENONENONE